SEPnet Astro Research webpages

Astro Facilities

- - - see also Physics Facilities



SEPnet Astro incorporates research expertise in all aspects of our Universe. The following is a representative selection for each member University along with a brief synposis of the research interests of that instituion's SEPnet Astro appointed research fellow. We have identified four sub-themes that are being developed to facilitate collaborations between all astronomers, cosmologists, space scientists and astrophysicists at the Astro institutes. These sub-themes describe the common interests of astrophysicists who would not have regularly talked together prior to the SEPNet era.

  1. The Radio: observations of all objects & phenomena.

  2. Coordinators: Judith Croston, Rob Fender, Steve Rawlings

  3. Feedback: required by radio galaxies, quasars, young stars, galaxy formation, cosmological models.

  4. Coordinators: Alejo Martinez Sansigre, Ian McHardy, Kathy Romer

  5. Simulations: predictions for LOFAR from stars, galaxies, and the Universe, as well as other wavelengths.

  6. Coordinators: Ilian Illiev, David Burgess, Michael Smith

  7. The Infrared: cool penetrating science.

  8. Coordinators: Stephen Lowry, Seb Oliver, Jim Emerson, Dirk Froebrich

Kent: Galactic Astronomy, Solar and Planetary Systems

Stephen Lowry (Kent) Stephen Lowry was a Planetary Scientist at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California and has recently been appointed (starting August 2009) as the Kent SEPnet Astro research fellow. His research interests include telescope observations as well as spacecraft exploration of solar system bodies for which he holds substantial NASA and NSF grants. He is a member of the OSIRIS Science Team for the ESA Rosetta mission, due to perform asteroid fly-bys and cometary orbit and landing.

Oxford: Cosmology, Galaxies, Stars, and the spaces inbetween

Ian Heywood is a researcher in Oxford working on radio simulation and calibration within the themes of jets from Active Galactic Nuclei, cataclysmic variables, radio interferometry and numerical simulations.

Portsmouth: Observational and extragalactic astronomy, theoretical cosmology and general relativity.

Alejo Martinez-Sansigre (Portsmouth) is currently at the Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy. He is interested in studying active galactic nuclei using different wavelengths, to understand how supermassive black holes grow as well as how they affect their host galaxies. Alejo has been awarded a STFC post-doctoral fellowship and will join Portsmouth at the beginning of 2010.

QMUL: Cosmology, Stars, Planetary Systems, Space

Dr David Tsiklauri will join QMUL's Astronomy Unit from September 2009. His research interests include large-scale numerical simulation (MHD and kinetic, Particle-in-Cell) and analytic theory of MHD waves and magnetic reconnection. Applications include Solar and Space Physics, the coronal heating problem, Solar and Stellar Flares. Areas of expertise include computational fluid dynamics, magnetohydrodynamics, plasma kinetic theory, partial differential equations, hyperbolic and quasi-hyperbolic systems. David will become involved in the exploitation of LOFAR.

Southampton: High Energy Astrophysics, Galaxies, Stars

Judith Croston has moved to Southampton from the University of Hertfordshire. Her research interests include the physics of active galaxies and galaxy clusters, and particularly the role of extragalactic jets in the evolution of galaxies and large-scale structure. She leads a number of X-ray and radio observing programmes, including the low-frequency radio survey of the Representative XMM-Newton Cluster Structure Survey (REXCESS), which will be an important precursor for LOFAR cluster science.

Sussex: Cosmology, Galaxies

Ilian Iliev (Sussex) started in Sussex in January 2009 coming from the Institut fuer Theoretische Physik in Zurich. Ilian is an expert in massive cosmological simulations of the Universe including radiative transfer codes specifically for studying the epoch of reionization. His work will be important for the LOFAR experiment and he is part of the main LOFAR EoR team.

If you have any comments regarding SEPnet Astro, please contact Prof. Michael Smith at Kent who is the present Chair of the SEPnet Astro Management Committee.

Or contact the Kent astrophysics group webmaster.